Wednesday, March 6, 2019

The Animal Health Trust (AHT) is proud to have an open call for nominations for the Veterinary Achievement Award for the AHT UK Equestrian Awards 2019. This prestigious award is to recognise veterinary surgeons that have made a major contribution to the equine veterinary field. Nominations must include a short bio of the career of the person and the reason why they have been nominated for the award. Candidates should ideally be working in the UK equestrian veterinary sector, although other candidates will be considered on merit. A panel of judges will vote to select the winner. Nominations close on the 15th May 2019, and should be sent to

The AHT UK Equestrian Awards has been recognising heroes, celebrating achievement and talent for over 30 years. Our flagship event is attended by around 300 guests, made up of high value AHT supporters, key influencers and leaders from the equestrian and business worlds and it is usually hosted by our President HRH The Princess Royal. Over the years this special event has raised hundreds of thousands of pounds for our vital research into disease and injury which affects the health of horses, dogs and cats. The Awards returns this year on Wednesday 16 October 2019 at The Dorchester on Park Lane, London.

The panel of judges for 2019 comprises:

  • Anna Hollis, Director of Centre for Equine Studies, AHT
  • Sue Dyson, Head of clinical orthopaedics, AHT
  • Richard Payne, Partner overseeing Rossdales Equine Hospital
  • Victoria South, Internal medicine specialist, Liphook Equine Hospital
  • Paddy Dixon, Personal chair of equine surgery, University of Edinburgh
  • Simon Knapp, Clinical Director, Scott Dunns Equine Clinic

Previous winners of the award:

1989 Dr WR (Twink) Allen

1990 Professor David Onions

1991 Professor Walter Plowright

1992 Dr Peter Rossdale

1993 Dr Jenny Mumford

1994 Professor Leo Jeffcott

1995 Professor Peter Lees

1996 Professor Barrie Edwards

1997 Dr Polly Taylor

1998 Dr Paddy Dixon

1999 Dr Tim Mair

2000 Mr John Walmsley

2001 Professor Allen Goodship

2002 Mr Derek Knottenbelt

2003 Geoff Lane

2004 Bruce McGorum

2005 Lord Soulsby

2006 Dr James Wood

2007 Libby Archer

2011 Dr Peter Clegg

2012 Keith Chandler

2013 Dr Sue Dyson

2014 Dr Pat Harris

2015 Tim Greet

2016 John McEwen

2017 Anthony Stirk

2018 Dr. Ed Robinson

This post was last updated on